Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 16 – MetLife Stadium – East Rutherford, NJ (Industry Press Releases)

Monster Energy Supercross’ history in East Rutherford dates back 30 years when the championship visited old Giants Stadium from ’87-’91. Supercross made its triumphant return 23 years later at the state-of-the-art MetLife Stadium in 2014.

Since supercross’ return to the New York metropolitan area, MetLife Stadium has been the site of incredible parity across both the 450SX and 250SX Classes. There has yet to be a repeat winner in either division the past three seasons.

MetLife Stadium cemented its legacy in the sport two seasons ago when it hosted the first-ever live broadcast of Monster Energy Supercross on FOX Broadcast Channel. Saturday’s race will also be showcased on FOX, reaching millions of viewers.

At $1.6 billion MetLife Stadium is the most expensive stadium ever built, due largely to its distinction as the only open-air venue in the country to house two competing franchises – the NFL’s New York Giants and New York Jets.

450SX Class Stats: East Rutherford

2016 Podium:

  1. Ken Roczen
  2. Eli Tomac
  3. Cole Seely

The first 450SX Class race held in East Rutherford was on June 7, 1987. Rick Johnson won while riding a Honda.

Eli Tomac will look to become the first repeat winner at MetLife Stadium, which has welcomed three different winners each of the past three seasons.

In total, six different riders have claimed a 450SX Class victory in East Rutherford across eight seasons. Despite the parity, the NYC area has yet to welcome a first-time winner, in either class.

Honda dominated the first era of Monster Energy Supercross competition in East Rutherford, winning every race from ’87-’91. The brand also has one win at MetLife Stadium, emerging victorious in six of eight total seasons.

The East Rutherford winner has gone on to win the 450SX Class title just three times in eight seasons (37%), and just once since the championship’s return in 2014 when Ryan Villopoto claimed victory.

All-Time Wins by Brand in East Rutherford (Last Win)

Honda: 6 (2015)

Kawasaki: 1 (2014)

Suzuki: 1 (2016)

All-Time Wins in East Rutherford (Wins)

Rick Johnson (2)

Jeff Stanton (2)

Brand Sweeps in East Rutherford (450SX & 250SX)

1991: Honda – Jeff Stanton & Brian Swink

Past Winners in East Rutherford

1987: Rick Johnson; Honda

1988: Rick Johnson; Honda

1989: Jeff Stanton; Honda

1990: Jean-Michel Bayle; Honda

1991: Jeff Stanton; Honda

2014: Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki

2015: Eli Tomac; Honda

2016: Ken Roczen; Suzuki

250SX Class Stats: East Rutherford

2016 Podium:

  1. Malcolm Stewart
  2. Martin Davalos
  3. Jeremy Martin

The first 250SX Class race held in East Rutherford was on June 7, 1987. Keith Turpin won on a Suzuki but missed out on winning the championship to Ron Tichenor by just one point.

In eight seasons of 250SX Class competition in East Rutherford there have been eight different winners. With the defending race winner Malcolm Stewart now in the 450SX Class, the division will welcome its ninth different NYC-area victor in as many seasons.

The 250SX Class winner in East Rutherford has gone on to win the Eastern Regional title in each of the past six seasons. Joey Savatgy, the current championship leader, will look to continue that trend this season.

All-Time Wins by Brand in East Rutherford (Last Win)

Honda: 3 (2016)

Suzuki: 2 (1990)

Yamaha: 2 (1989)

KTM: 1 (2015)

All-Time Wins in East Rutherford (Wins)

Justin Bogle (1)

Damon Bradshaw (1)

Mike LaRocco (1)

Marvin Musquin (1)

Denny Stephenson (1)

Malcolm Stewart (1)

Brian Swink (1)

Keith Turpin (1)

Past Winners in East Rutherford

1987: Keith Turpin; Suzuki

1988: Mike LaRocco; Yamaha

1989: Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha

1990: Denny Stephenson; Suzuki

1991: Brian Swink; Honda

2014: Justin Bogle; Honda

2015: Marvin Musquin; KTM

2016: Malcolm Stewart; Honda

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *